Thursday, July 12, 2007

Photo of Kristy Richardson and Cary Coburn

Above is a photo of Kristy Richardson and Cary Coburn at the reception for Outstanding Departmental Teaching Assistants. Again, our congratulations to both Cary and Kristy.

Friday, July 6, 2007

In the News

Yinsheng Wang's research on posttranslational modifications to proteins isolated from breast cancer tissues was recently spotlighted in the Journal of Proteome Research. To see the full write up, click here.

ETOX MiniGSA Awards

The Environmental Toxicology Graduate Student Association (ETminiGSA) was formed last year for the purpose of providing enhanced interaction and communication among the interdisciplinary student body that makes up the Environmental Toxicology program. One of our first endeavors was to re-establish the Outstanding Faculty/Mentor Award. This is the second year for the reinstatement of this award, and the recipient of this years’ award has proven to be an outstanding faculty member and mentor through not only his kind words and advice, but through his actions as well. On behalf of the students of Environmental Toxicology, this award was presented to Dr. David Eastmond.

The ETminiGSA also established the ‘Student Choice Award’ for best student presentation. This award is voted on solely by the Environmental Toxicology students, and both honorable mention and first place are awarded. Honorable mention receives an Environmental Toxicology t-shirt specifically designed for the program, and first place receives a $50 Visa Gift card. This year, there was a tie for honorable mention, with both Jean-Paul Baquiran (‘Bioprospecting for Degradative Enzymes and Organisms in the La Brea Tar Pits’ working under the guidance of Dr. David E. Crowley) and Wesley Hunter (‘Using Disposable Polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) Fibers to Sense the Bioavailability of Permethrin in Sediment’ working under the guidance of Dr. Jay Gan) receiving the award. First place was awarded to Chris Banks (‘Uncovering the Mechanism of Action Underlying Hypokinesia Induction from the Venom of the Parasitoid Wasp, Ampulex compressa’ working under the guidance of Dr. Michael E. Adams).

Again, we would like to extend congratulations to all award recipients!

Photos from the Annual Student Symposium 2007

This year's annual student symposium took place on Friday June 22. There were 27 fine student presentations as well as a hosted lunch and evening reception. Cary Coburn won the Fukuto award, Chris Banks was an honorable mention, and Zhenshan Chen received the award for best 1st year student presentation. Andrew Grosovsky received a special award for his service over the years to the ETOX Program. Music during the reception was provided by the Mill Creek Boys. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. People were partying until 9:30 or 10 pm. Our thanks go to Deidra Kornfeld and the members of the Student Symposium Committee (Dr. Andrew Grosovsky, Seminar Chair, Dr. Janet Arey, Dr. Wenwan Zhong, Chris Banks, JP Baquiran, Cary Coburn, Karla Pliego, and Kristy Richardson) for organizing the Symposium and Reception. Photos from the event are posted below.

Cary Coburn receiving the Fukuto Award.

Chris Banks receiving the Honorable Mention award.

Zhenshan Chen receiving the award for best first year student presentation.

Andrew Grosovsky receiving an award for outstanding service to the Program.

Additional photos from the reception.